Flat Trainer of the Year

The evolving challenge of saddling Classic winners remains the ultimate prize in the Flat training ranks and those successful also tend to feature heavily in the winners’ list at the Derby awards.

Racing legend Sir Noel Murless was a worthy first recipient, months on from Royal Palace’s success in the Derby, and three years later Vincent O’Brien became one of the most famous winners, as the only ever to be recognised in the category for training a Triple Crown winner.

Nijinsky’s trainer is a double-champion of the prize but no trainer has won it more times than the legendary Sir Henry Cecil. His first success came in 1976 and 36 years later, thanks to the talents of Frankel, he scooped the title for an eighth time.

A total of 32 different trainers have won the race in its 55-year history, most recently Julie Camacho who became the first woman to win the award.

← Back to Derby Awards home

Julie Camacho

2023 winner

2024 Voting

Details on nominations and voting will be added later this year.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2023 Julie Camacho
2022 Sir Mark Prescott
2021 Charlie Appleby
2020 John Gosden
2019 John Gosden
2018 John Gosden
2017 Aidan O’Brien
2011 Sir Henry Cecil
2010 Richard Hannon
2009 John Oxx
2008 Aidan O’Brien
2007 Peter Chapple-Hyam
2006 Marcus Tregoning
2005 Michael Bell
2004 Saeed bin Suroor
2003 Sir Michael Stoute
2002 Mark Johnston
2001 Aidan O’Brien
2000 John Oxx
1999 Henry Cecil
1998 Saeed bin Suroor
1997 Sir Michael Stoute
1996 Henry Cecil
1995 John Dunlop
1994 Mark Johnston
1993 Richard Hannon
1992 Richard Hannon
1991 Paul Cole
1990 Jack Berry
1989 Dick Hern
1988 David Chapman
1987 Henry Cecil
1986 Sir Michael Stoute
1985 Henry Cecil
1984 Ron Sheather
1983 John Dunlop
1982 David Chapman
1981 Guy Harwood
1980 Dick Hern
1979 Henry Cecil
1978 Sir Michael Stoute
1977 Vincent O’Brien
1976 Henry Cecil
1975 Dick Hern
1974 Peter Walwyn
1973 Arthur Budgett
1972 Bruce Hobbs
1971 Ian Balding
1970 Vincent O’Brien
1969 Harvey Leader
1968 Sir Cecil Boyd-Rochfort
1967 Sir Noel Murless

From 2012 until 2016 there was a joint trainers category. 

2016 Aidan O’Brien
2015 John Gosden
2014 Richard Hannon
2013 Richard Hannon
2012 Sir Henry Cecil