HWPA President's Award

The current HWPA president has full reign to decide the winner of this prize and in the past it has been handed to a variety of worthy champions from Frankel and American Pharoah to the BBC Racing team.

Members of the racing press feature prominently in the roll of honour including long-serving president George Ennor, who won ten years on from ending his tenure at the helm. Legendary figures AP McCoy, Jonjo O’Neill, David Elsworth and Ruby Walsh are among notable recent winners.

This prize has not been handed out every single year since 1995 but last year John Hanmer received the honour with David Cleary calling him in the brochure “impeccably mannered, thoroughly professional, dry of humour, a credit to the sport and to the media.”

← Back to Derby Awards home

John Hanmer

2021 winner

Previous winners

Year Winner
2021 John Hanmer
2019 Ruby Walsh
2018 Mark & Deirdre Johnston
2017 David Elsworth
2015 American Pharoah
2014 Jonjo O’Neill
2013 Derek Thompson
2012 BBC Racing
2011 Frankel
2010 AP McCoy
2008 Colin Mackenzie
2007 JP McNamara
2006 Martin Pipe
2005 Reg Hollinshead
2004 George Ennor
2003 Lord Oaksey
2001 John Reid
2000 Ray Cochrane
1999 Jack Berry
1997 Major Dick Hern CVO
1995 Jim Old Stable Staff