National Hunt Jockey of the Year

It took ten years and a history-making ride on Red Rum in 1977 for a jockey to land this prestigious award for a second time. Tommy Stack is one of many legends to feature on the jumps jockeys’ roll of honour which would later include Jonjo O’Neill and Bob Champion.

Between 1983 and 1991 only Chris Grant could deny the prize heading to either Peter Scudamore and John Francome but the more dominant figure in the category would first appear in 1996, with Sir Anthony McCoy enjoying the first of 14 victories. He is the winningmost person across all of the categories at the Derby awards with only Ruby Walsh prying the award away up until 2011.

McCoy also won again when the jumps and flat category merged for six years – and he remains the only jumps rider to win in that period – but recently it has been the girls who have triumphed with Bryony Frost and Rachael Blackmore landing the honour.

In 2023, Harry Cobden landed the prize for his terrific season which included a brilliant Cheltenham Festival double

← Back to Derby Awards home

Harry Cobden (collected by Paul Nicholls)

2023 winner

2024 Voting

HWPA members can vote on this category. Nominations will be announced later this year.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2023 Harry Cobden
2022 Brian Hughes
2021 Rachael Blackmore
2020 Brian Hughes
2019 Bryony Frost
2018 Richard Johnson
2017 Richard Johnson
2011 AP McCoy
2010 AP McCoy
2009 AP McCoy
2008 Ruby Walsh
2007 Ruby Walsh
2006 AP McCoy
2005 Ruby Walsh
2004 AP McCoy
2003 AP McCoy
2002 AP McCoy
2001 AP McCoy
2000 AP McCoy
1999 AP McCoy
1998 AP McCoy
1997 AP McCoy
1996 AP McCoy
1995 Norman Williamson
1994 Adrian Maguire
1993 Richard Dunwoody
1992 Peter Niven
1991 Peter Scudamore
1990 Peter Scudamore
1989 Peter Scudamore
1988 Chris Grant
1987 Peter Scudamore
1986 Peter Scudamore
1985 John Francome
1984 John Francome
1983 John Francome
1982 Peter Scudamore
1981 Bob Champion
1980 Jonjo O’Neill
1979 Tommy Carmody
1978 Jonjo O’Neill
1977 Tommy Stack
1976 Jeff King
1975 Tommy Stack
1974 Richard Pitman
1973 Ron Barry
1972 Bob Davies
1971 Graham Thorner
1970 Terry Biddlecombe
1969 Stan Mellor
1968 Brian Fletcher
1967 Josh Gifford

From 2012 until 2016 there was a joint jockeys category.

2016 Jim Crowley
2015 Frankie Dettori
2014 Ryan Moore
2013 AP McCoy
2012 Richard Hughes