The HWPA is delighted to announce the names of the eight nominees selected by the panel of judges to go forward to be voted on by HWPA members for the Sir Peter O’Sullevan Trophy. Many other names were considered and it is a measure of the depth of broadcasting talent in horse racing that the judges found it so difficult to narrow the list down to just these eight.

Those chosen represent the very best in all aspects of broadcasting, whether presenting, punditry or commentating, tv, radio or online.

The top four nominees, as voted for by the members, will go forward as finalists for the award, with the winner announced at the Derby Awards Lunch on 5th December.

The eight nominees, along with the judges’ citations, are as follows:

Josh Apiafi
Creates thought-provoking and ground-breaking content, while playing a key role in promoting diversity in racing

Kevin Blake
Brilliantly versatile, an original thinker, who tackles serious issues insightfully but can also inject a sense of fun to his output

Ed Chamberlin
Continues to front the sport’s highest-profile broadcasts with authority, while always ensuring watching racing is fun

Lydia Hislop
Superb presenter and interviewer who asks the key questions, she brings quality to the screen whatever the occasion

John Hunt
Brings racing’s big moments to life with his outstanding commentaries, backed up by his fine work on radio and in the tv studio

Nick Luck
Exudes class whenever in front of camera, while his podcast is increasingly essential listening

Adele Mulrennan
Has quickly developed into a fine broadcaster who provides great insight in an accessible way, able to talk to those outside the racing bubble

Ruby Walsh
Brilliant analyst who finds absorbing angles whether discussing big races or minor midweek meetings, racing’s answer to Gary Neville

Remaining nominations will be announced in due course.