Derby Awards

The Derby Awards Lunch is the biggest day in the HWPA calendar. In total, 16 awards are given out across a lavish afternoon in the Royal Lancaster in London, where a three-course meal is served in one of the city’s finest settings

The awards itself celebrates the best work of racing’s journalists, broadcasters and photographers while HWPA members also get the chance to vote and commemorate leading jockeys, trainers and owners from each year. It is an event not to be missed.

Click on any of the awards below to find out more, see past winners and entry requirements.

2022 HWPA Derby Awards

The 56th Derby Awards will return to the Royal Lancaster on Monday 5th December.

Entries are open for the 2022 HWPA Derby Awards and close on Thursday October 6th.

The Awards

Racing Writer of the Year: Clive Graham Trophy
2021 winner: Lee Mottershead (Racing Post)
President’s Award
John Hanmer
Racing Reporter of the Year: John Oaksey Trophy
Chris Cook (Racing Post)
Flat Jockey of the Year
William Buick
Specialist Writer of the Year
Ian Carnaby (freelance)
Flat Trainer of the Year
Charlie Appleby
Emerging Talent: Alan Lee Trophy
Jess Stafford (Racing TV)
National Hunt Jockey of the Year
Rachael Blackmore
Photographer of the Year
Patrick McCann (Racing Post)
National Hunt Trainer of the Year
Henry de Bromhead
Picture of the Year
Francesca Altoft
Owner of the Year
Emma Banks
Broadcaster of the Year: Peter O’Sullevan Trophy
Lydia Hislop (Racing TV)
International Trainer of the Year
Charlie Appleby
Outstanding Achievement: George Ennor Trophy
Richard Johnson
Arabian Racing Achievement Award
Sheikh Hamdan Al Maktoum