International Trainer of the Year

Sponsored by the International Racing Bureau

Forward thinking and ambition to campaign horses outside the realms of Britain and Ireland is recognised here with this unique award which has been supported by the International Racing Bureau since its establishment in 1981.

The first winner, Ian Balding, led by example due to the path taken by top three-year-old Glint Of Gold but his decision-making was partially due to the presence of the great Shergar. Balding was keen not to repeat the ten-length thrashing Gint Of Gold suffered in what proved a historic Derby later, and instead they would make history in Europe by becoming the first British-trained winner of the Grand Prix de Paris and the Preis von Europa.

Paul Cole, another who enjoyed success across Europe and America with the likes of Generous, Zoman and Ibn Bey, won the prize four times and it took John Gosden’s fantastic French results in 2019 to level his tally. Sir Michael Stoute, Saeed bin Suroor and Aidan O’Brien share three wins respectively.

A memorable 2023 helped John and Thady Gosden make history as the first training partnership to win a Derby Award. 

← Back to Derby Awards home

John and Thady Gosden

2023 winner

Previous winners

Year Winner
2023 John and Thady Gosden
2022 Charlie Appleby
2021 Charlie Appleby
2020 William Haggas
2019 John Gosden
2018 Charlie Appleby
2017 Charlie Appleby
2016 Charlie Appleby
2015 John Gosden
2014 David Simcock
2013 Ed Dunlop
2012 Marco Botti
2011 Aidan O’Brien
2010 John Gosden
2009 Mick Channon
2008 John Gosden
2007 Aidan O’Brien
2006 Brian Meehan
2005 Andrew Balding
2004 Ed Dunlop
2003 Pascal Bary
2002 Dermot Weld
2001 Aidan O’Brien
2000 Saeed bin Suroor
1999 Saeed bin Suroor
1998 Saeed bin Suroor
1997 Sir Michael Stoute
1996 Sir Michael Stoute
1995 Peter Chapple-Hyam
1994 John Dunlop
1993 John Dunlop
1992 Paul Cole
1991 Paul Cole
1990 Paul Cole
1989 Henry Cecil
1988 Luca Cumani
1987 Paul Cole
1986 Sir Michael Stoute
1985 Clive Brittain
1984 Ian Balding
1983 Luca Cumani
1982 John Dunlop
1981 Ian Balding