Emerging Talent

Alan Lee Trophy

First introduced in 2019, the Emerging Talent award was created to highlight the depth of young talent throughout the racing media. From writers, broadcasters, photographers and more the award is open for those members of the media under the age of 30.

The first two winners Jonathan Harding and Nick Seddon displayed their writing ability while Jess Stafford then produced an exemplary submission of broadcast work for Racing TV.

In 2022, a photographer gained the spotlight with freelancer Megan Dent successful. The judges called her photo portfolio “beautifully atmospheric and stunning”.

She won the prize ahead of Dan Overall (freelance) and Racing Post quartet Mark Boylan, Maddy Playle, James Stevens and Kitty Trice.

This prize remains the only one where former winners are no longer permitted to enter again.

Alan Lee

Alan wrote for the Times, first as cricket correspondent for 11 years, then as racing correspondent for 14. He won the SJA Sports Writer of the Year Award in 2001 and was a three-time winner of the Clive Graham Trophy for Racing Writer of the Year.

← Back to Derby Awards home

Megan Dent

2022 winner

2023 Enries

Entries are not currently open for the 2023 Derby Awards. Entrants must be under 30 years of age on the date of the Arc, 2nd October 2022, and submit their age with their entry. Their three pieces of work can cover a range of media, including traditional written and photography, blogs, social media and broadcasting.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2022 Megan Dent (freelancer)
2021 Jess Stafford (Racing TV)
Nick Seddon (Horseracing.net)
Jonathan Harding (Racing Post)