Photographer of the Year

Whether it is glowing in the Royal Ascot sun or trekking through the mud at Carlisle in November, racing photographers are always at the centre of the action across the country.

The Photographer of the Year prize rewards the best and most varied portfolio of images taken throughout the year. The prize is one of the most distinguished in sports photography and entered its 25th year in 2022.

Press Association photographer David Davies scooped the number one prize for the first time in 2022 with a stunning portfolio. They include epic action shots of the Grand National, Royal Ascot and Derby day which the judges credited for “covering every aspect of horse racing and the photographer’s art.”

2022 nominees also include strong entries from Tim Goode (Press Association), Patrick McCann (Racing Post) and Edward Whitaker (Racing Post). All

Davies is the 14th individual photographer to win the prize.  Edward Whitaker is the most successful in the category with eight victories.

← Back to Derby Awards home

Patrick McCann

2023 winner

David Dennis’ winning portfolio

2024 Entries

Entries for the 2024 Derby Awards are not open. Entrants must submit six images. The maximum pixels of the images being 4500 on the longest side, saved at 10 in Photoshop. No images to be used from video grabs. Usual darkroom techniques only to be applied to images.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2023 Patrick McCann
2022 David Davies
2021 Patrick McCann
2020 Tracy Roberts
2019 Edward Whitaker
2018 Edward Whitaker
2017 Dan Abraham
2016 Edward Whitaker
2015 Dan Abraham
2014 Edward Whitaker
2013 Alan Crowhurst
2012 Edward Whitaker
2011 Mel Fordham
2010 Dan Abraham
2009 Alan Crowhurst
2008 Hugh Routledge
2007 David Dew
2006 Edward Whitaker
2005 Bill Selwyn
2004 Dan Abraham
2003 Edward Whitaker
2002 Edward Whitaker
2001 Anne Grossick
2000 John Grossick
1999 Edward Whitaker
1998 Alec Russell
1997 Mark Cranham