Course representatives

What are course representatives?

Our dedicated course representatives act as the liaison between the HWPA members and the racecourses. They are the contact point for any issues regarding facilities or the working environment for press, photographers and broadcasters and actively seek to improve the experience.

Get in touch with a member by selecting the appropriate racecourse and following the contact link added.



What we expect?

  • Should be conveniently located for paddock and unsaddling area/winner’s enclosure and
    race viewing (separate raised viewing area should be provided if media area does not
  • Effective and appropriate security measures controlling access to/from public areas.
  • Sufficient work stations, with appropriate and usable furniture.
  • Sufficient power points, situated throughout the work area.
  • Every press room should have at least two televisions with access to RTV/Sky Sports Racing.
  • Refreshments should include sandwiches, tea, coffee and water, with vegetarian options.
  • Hot food is appreciated as is seasonal variation.
  • Easy access to toilet facilities.
  • Convenient parking facilities, with separate areas for TV and radio outside broadcast vehicles as appropriate.
  • Space for ITV Racing pre-race meetings/briefings.
  • Complimentary access to high-speed wireless internet connection (WiFi).
Representatives in full
Racecourse Representative
Aintree David Carr/Tracy Roberts
Ascot Jack Keene/Bill Selwyn
Ayr Tracy Roberts/Louise Pollard
Bangor Tracy Roberts
Bath James Stevens
Beverley Louise Pollard
Brighton Emma Berry
Carlisle Darren Owen
Cartmel Tracy Roberts/Louise Pollard
Catterick Louise Pollard
Chelmsford Steve Payne
Cheltenham Bill Selwyn/James Stevens
Chepstow James Stevens
Chester Tracy Roberts*
Doncaster David Carr
Epsom Jack Keene*
Exeter James Stevens
Fakenham Steve Payne
Ffos Las James Stevens
Fontwell David Cleary
Goodwood Jack Keene*
Hamilton Tracy Roberts/Louise Pollard
Haydock Tracy Roberts/David Carr
Hereford James Stevens
Hexham Tracy Roberts/Louise Pollard
Huntingdon Steve Payne
Kelso Tracy Roberts/Louise Pollard
Kempton Jack Keene*
Leicester Harry Allwood
Lingfield Emma Berry
Ludlow James Stevens
Market Rasen David Carr
Musselburgh Darren Owen
Newbury David Cleary
Newcastle Darren Owen
Newmarket Emma Berry*
Newton Abbot James Stevens
Nottingham Harry Allwood
Perth Tracy Roberts/Louise Pollard
Plumpton David Cleary
Pontefract David Carr
Redcar Louise Pollard
Ripon Louise Pollard
Sailsbury Tom Peacock
Sandown Tom Peacock
Sedgefield Darren Owen
Southwell David Carr
Stratford Harry Allwood
Taunton James Stevens
Thirsk Louise Pollard
Uttoxeter Darren Owen
Warwick Harry Allwood
Wetherby David Carr
Wincanton James Stevens
Windsor David Cleary
Wolverhampton Steve Payne
Worcester James Stevens
Yarmouth Steve Payne
York David Carr/Louise Pollard