Broadcaster of the Year

Peter O'Sullevan Trophy

With racing on terrestrial TV and radio every week and with two networks dedicated to the sport, there is no shortage of top talent in the racing broadcasting ranks. This highly competitive award features the year’s leading presenters, pundits and commentators while members of the racing press involved in broadcast media are also invited to enter.

Nick Luck is the most successful broadcaster in the category, scooping the prize on nine occasions, but Lydia Hislop completed a hat-trick in 2023.

Luck, Kevin Blake, Ed Chamberlin and Adele Mulrennan were also nominated.

Peter O’Sullevan

Known as ‘the Voice’, Sir Peter was the racing commentator on BBC television for 50 years, as well as writing for the PA and the Daily Express.

← Back to Derby Awards home

Lydia Hislop (collected by Ben Wong)

2023 winner

2024 Voting

Details on nominations and voting will be added later this year.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2023 Lydia Hislop
2022 Nick Luck
2021 Lydia Hislop
2020 Nick Luck
2019 Lydia Hislop
2018 Jason Weaver
2017 Luke Harvey
2016 Nick Luck
2015 John Hunt
2014 Nick Luck
2013 Nick Luck
2012 Clare Balding
2011 Nick Luck
2010 Matt Chapman
2009 Nick Luck
2008 Nick Luck
2007 Nick Luck
2006 Mike Cattermole
2005 Robert Cooper
2004 Clare Balding