Racing Reporter of the Year

John Oaksey Trophy

The John Oaksey Trophy was introduced to the Derby Awards in 2012 as a second prize available to journalists. It looks back on those who have uncovered and produced the hard-hitting exclusives across the year and written the stories which prompt important conversations around the sport.

Nick Luck successfully defended the title in its new format (one submission rather than three) with an interview with Amo Racing’s Kia Joorabchian after the sacking of jockey Kevin Stott.

The Racing Post’s Bill Barber and Jonathan Harding were also nominated along with Callum Jamieson from The Sun.

John Oaksey
A celebrated amateur rider, who rode the runner-up Carrickbeg in the 1963 Grand National, John was a long-serving correspondent for the Daily Telegraph and the Horse & Hound, as well as a noted broadcaster for ITV and then Channel 4. He was also involved in the setting up of the Injured Jockeys Fund.

← Back to Derby Awards home

Nick Luck

2023 winner

2024 Entries

Entries are currently not open for the 2024 Derby Awards. Entries for this category should be a strong news story, especially a scoop or an exclusive, broken by the reporter, on any aspect of horse racing. Entries may be written, audio or video pieces. Entrants are required to submit ONE piece of work.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2023 Nick Luck (Nick Luck Podcast)
2022 Nick Luck (Nick Luck Podcast)
2021 Chris Cook (Racing Post)
2020 Chris Cook (The Guardian)
2019 Marcus Townend (Daily Mail)
2018 Bill Barber (Racing Post)
2017 Marcus Armytage (Daily Telegraph)
2016 Marcus Townend (Daily Mail)
2015 Graham Dench (Racing Post)
2014 Chris Cook (The Guardian)
2013 Jon Lees (Racing Post)
2012 Chris Cook (The Guardian)