Outstanding Achievement

George Ennor Trophy

One of the most special moments of the Derby Awards is crowning the winner of the Outstanding Achievement award. The prize is chosen by the HWPA committee for a recipient who has made an extraordinary impact on the sport.

In the award’s inaugural year, trainer Dermot Weld won the award just a month on from the heroics of Vintage Crop in the Melbourne Cup and two years later Lester Piggott became the first jockey to take the prize. In 1997, the legendary Sir Peter O’Sullevan was a worthy first member of the racing media to be celebrated.

There has been huge variety in recent years with Lisa Hancock, the chief executive of the Injured Jockeys Fund, winning in 2019 while Jerry Hill’s efforts during the Covid-19 was rewarded the following year.

George Ennor
Long-serving President of the HWA from 1973 to 1994, George had a long career as a correspondent for the Sporting Life and then the Racing Post.

← Back to Derby Awards home

Paul Hanagan

2023 winner

Previous winners

Year Winner
2023 Paul Hanagan
2022 Nicky Henderson
2021 Richard Johnson
2020 Dr Jerry Hill
2019 Lisa Hancock
2018 Richard Pitman
2017 Seamus Buckley
2016 Geoff Greetham
2015 Norman Gundill
2014 Clive Brittain
2013 Jack Berry
2012 John Dunlop
2011 Michael Jarvis
2010 Rod Fabricius
2009 Barry Hills
2008 Ed Byrne, Gerry Cranham & Alec Russell
2007 Nigel Payne
2006 Ginger McCain
2005 Peter Sayer
2004 Peter Willett
2003 Pat Eddery
2002 Ian Balding
2001 Graham Rock
2000 Johnny Murtagh
1999 Peter Walwyn
1998 Captain Tim Forster
1997 Sir Peter O’Sullevan CBE
1996 Peter Easterby
1995 Lester Piggott
1994 Vincent O’Brien
1993 Dermot Weld