Owner of the Year

The outstanding horses in which the HWPA members get to write and talk about, analyse and photograph would not be around if it was not for the owners. Whether it is individuals or operations, this award celebrates big years for racing’s biggest supporters.

Famous winners include The Queen and Sir Alex Ferguson while the many top horses to carry the iconic silks of HH Aga Khan, Hamdan Al Maktoum, Godolphin and Prince Khalid Abdullah have helped them take the prize.

In recent years, a few of racing’s lesser-known owners who have hit the big time have scooped top honours with Andrew Gemmell and Emma Banks triumphing but Shadwell Estates took the prize last December.

← Back to Derby Awards home

Shadwell Estates

2023 winner

2024 Entries

HWPA members can vote on this category. Nominations will be announced later this year.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2023 Shadwell Estates
2022 Kirsten Rausing
2021 Emma Banks
2020 Hamdan Al Maktoum
2019 Andrew Gemmell
2018 John Dance
2017 Prince Khalid Abdullah
2016 Coolmoore
2015 Anthony Oppenheimer
2014 Prince Khalid Abdullah
2013 HE Sheikh Joaan Bin Hamad Al Thani
2012 Prince Khalid Abdullah
2011 Prince Khalid Abdullah
2010 Prince Khalid Abdullah
2009 Christopher Tsui
2008 Paul Barber and Mrs Maggie Findlay
2007 Clive Smith
2006 Anthony & Victoria Pakenham
2005 Graham Wylie
2004 Lord Derby
2003 Jim Lewis
2002 Sir Alex Ferguson
2001 Sue Magnier & Michael Tabor
2000 HH Aga Khan
1999 Michael Tabor
1998 The Summit Partnership
1997 Peter Winfield
1996 Godolphin
1995 Godolphin
1994 Jeff Smith
1993 Robert Sangster
1992 Bill Gredley
1991 Prince Fahd Salman
1990 Hamdan Al Maktoum
1989 Hamdan Al Maktoum
1988 Jim Joel
1987 Louis Freedman
1986 Prince Khalid Abdullah
1985 Lord Howard de Walden
1984 Eric Moller
1983 Robert Barnett
1982 Paul Mellon
1981 HH Aga Khan
1980 Pat Muldoon
1979 Snailwell Stud Co.
1978 David McCall
1977 HM The Queen
1976 Daniel Wildenstein
1975 Dr Carlo Vittadini
1974 Peter O’Sullevan
1973 Louis Freedman
1972 Lady Beaverbrook
1971 John & Jean Hislop
1970 Charles W.Engelhard & David McCall
1969 Earl of Rosebery
1968 Lord Allendale
1967 Jim Joel

From 1969 until 1973 there was a separate category National Hunt Owner of the Year.

1973 Noel le Mare
Mrs John Rogerson
Colonel Bill Whitbread
1970 Bryan Jenks
Edward Courage