The nominees for the six writing and photographic awards at the HWPA Derby Awards have been revealed – but voting has now closed!

Portfolios for the writing awards can be viewed by clicking on each of the nominee’s names, for video content please follow the links in the file.

Voting is now open for HWPA members for the Racing Writer of the Year and Reporter of the Year categories, along with the Broadcaster of the Year and the non-Media categories.

You can find out more about each award in our dedicated Derby Awards section.

Racing Writer of the Year – Clive Graham Trophy

Lydia Hislop (freelance)
Incisive articles, showing an excellent grasp of fine details, containing a wealth of information, the opinions offered cogently argued

Adam Houghton (Sporting Life/Timeform)
Well-researched and engaging writing, the article on Baaeed a thoroughly excellent piece with, rarely for nowadays, the horse at its core

Daragh Ó Conchúir (freelance)
Allows his subjects all the room needed to emerge, the interview with Eleanora Kennedy a fine example of its type, entertaining and original

Peter Thomas (Racing Post)
Quickly gets to the core of his subject, the writing entertaining and in-depth, the Peter Chapple-Hyam interview particularly enjoyable

Voting is OPEN to members. Find out more about the award here.

Racing Reporter of the Year: John Oaksey Trophy

Jonathan Harding (Racing Post)
Minimum prize money rise affects just small number of races shows the ability and willingness to dig deeper into a widely-covered story, using data and analysis to reveal what the figures will mean

Nick Luck (Nick Luck podcast)
Gosden-Dettori split proves that top-class reporting is delivered on a variety of different platforms in the 21st Century

Lee Mottershead (Racing Post)
Josh Moore interview captures perfectly the emotions of Moore and his partner Phoebe Cruse in a sensitive but insightful interview, both fascinating and engaging

Daragh Ó Conchúir (freelance)
Banned substances seized after farm raid set the agenda for those who follow and cover racing, the exclusive report revealing a significant development following months of speculation

Voting is OPEN to members. Find out more about the award here.

Specialist Writer of the Year

Emma Berry (Thoroughbred Daily News)
Authoritative and well-informed articles, written in a very clear and entertaining style, most enjoyable to read

Jonathan Harding (Racing Post)
Excellent, thoroughly well-researched pieces, with complex subjects clearly explained for the non-specialist reader

Jon Lees (Thoroughbred Racing Commentary)
Incredibly powerful writing dealing with important topics that go beyond racing, such as Ukraine and addiction, the subjects timely indeed

Alan Sweetman (Racing Post)
An excellently varied submission, with a first-class interview, a cogent opinion piece and a moving reflection on a tragic death

The winner is decided by the judges. Find out more about the award here.

Emerging Talent – Alan Lee Trophy

Mark Boylan (Racing Post)
His ‘pre elbow’ piece with Christophe Soumillon was delightful, while he’s at ease wrestling with punting strategy, based on thorough homework and attention to detail

Megan Dent (freelance)
Offered a portfolio showing how far she has come in such a short space of time, the photographs beautifully atmospheric, stunning, really capturing the moment

Daniel Overall (freelance)
Has a few strings to his bow, his versatility shining through in the variety of work put forward, he has an engaging style and is knowledgeable and assured

Maddy Playle (Racing Post)
Has enjoyed another outstanding year, displaying a commendable grasp of a wide range of subjects, consistently combining sensitivity and boldness in her writing

James Stevens (Racing Post)
Has talent and versatility in abundance, as comfortable producing sharp analysis on industry matters as he is handling creative features

Kitty Trice (Racing Post)
Produced a strong trio of articles on the specialised subject of bloodstock, which were informative, lively, educational and enjoyable to read

The winner is decided by the judges. Find out more about the award here.

Broadcaster of the Year

John Hunt
Brings racing’s big moments to life with his outstanding commentaries, backed up by his fine work on radio and in the tv studio

Nick Luck
Exudes class whenever in front of camera, while his podcast is increasingly essential listening

Adele Mulrennan
Has quickly developed into a fine broadcaster who provides great insight in an accessible way, able to talk to those outside the racing bubble

Ruby Walsh
Brilliant analyst who finds absorbing angles whether discussing big races or minor midweek meetings, racing’s answer to Gary Neville

The shortlist was drawn up by an independent judging panel. Voting is OPEN to members. Find out more about the award here.

Photographer of the Year

David Davies (Press Association)
An outstanding portfolio which covers every aspect of horse racing and the photographer’s art, the Epsom buses shot a classic of its kind

Tim Goode (Press Association)
A fine set, every picture thought through in detail, exemplified by the shadow on the brickwork, the shot through the grass perfectly captured

Patrick McCann (Racing Post)
A superb portfolio with a great use of colour, the brooding sky shot Turneresque, the horses on the beach another excellent picture

Edward Whitaker (Racing Post)
A strong set of pictures, the silks photo simple yet a perfect piece of history, the Cheltenham remote outstanding of its type

The winner is decided by the judges. Find out more about the award here.

Picture of the Year

Alan Crowhurst (Getty Images)

Alan Crowhurst (Getty Images) A once-in-a-blue-moon picture with the moment perfectly captured


David Davies (Press Association)The light is superb; such a good photo, you could make an oil painting out of it


George Selwyn (freelance) Excellently cropped; a fine image of a big moment, made special by the expressions of the two boys


Edward Whitaker (Racing Post) Captures the essence of a horse race in the mud, a technically excellent photograph




The winner is decided by the judges. Find out more about the award here.

Flat Trainer

Charlie Appleby
Andrew Balding
William Haggas
Sir Mark Prescott

Flat Jockey

William Buick
Jim Crowley
Hollie Doyle
Richard Kingscote

Jumps Trainer

Henry de Bromhead
Emmet Mullins
Willie Mullins
Paul Nicholls

Jumps Jockey

Rachael Blackmore
Sean Bowen
Brian Hughes
Sam Waley-Cohen


Cheveley Park Stud
Ian Hamilton
Kirsten Rausing
Shadwell Estates