The 57th Annual HWPA Derby Awards, sponsored by Hong Kong Jockey Club and WorldPool, Coral and BioWaveGo, were presented on Monday afternoon at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London.

The Clive Graham Trophy for Racing Writer of the Year was won for the first time by the Racing Post’s Chris Cook. Chris, a previous winner of the John Oaksey Trophy, saw off his Post colleagues Bill Barber and last year’s winner Peter Thomas, as well as another former winner, the Guardian’s Greg Wood.

The Photographer of the Year award also went to the Racing Post, with their Irish snapper Patrick McCann lifting the prize for the third time. However, in the Picture of the Year category for the Gerry Cranham Trophy, Patrick had to give best to Tim Goode.

The Sir Peter O’Sullevan Trophy for Broadcaster of the Year saw Lydia Hislop follow up her successes in 2019 and 2021. Lydia was also on the shortlist for Specialist Writer of the Year, but that prize eluded her, victory going to Ian Carnaby for the second time.

The Alan Lee Trophy for Emerging Talent produced a surprise, with the judges unable to decide between rookie commentator Alex Fussey and budding jockey-turned-broadcaster Megan Nicholls.

The John Oaksey Trophy for Reporter of the Year went for the second year running to Nick Luck, for his work on the Nick Luck podcast.

The George Ennor Award for Lifetime Achievement was presented to Paul Hanagan.

HWPA Derby Awards Winners 2023

Racing Writer of the Year: Chris Cook

Reporter of the Year: Nick Luck

Specialist Writer of the Year: Ian Carnaby

Photographer of the Year: Patrick McCann

Picture of the Year: Tim Goode

Broadcaster of the Year: Lydia Hislop

Emerging Talent: Alex Fussey and Megan Nicholls

George Ennor Award for Outstanding Achievement: Paul Hanagan

Flat Trainer of the Year: Julie Camacho

Jump Trainer of the Year: Lucinda Russell

Flat Jockey of the Year: William Buick

Jump Jockey of the Year: Harry Cobden

Owner of the Year: Shadwell Estates

IRB International Trainer of the Year: John & Thady Gosden

ARO Arabian Racing Achievement Award: James Owen

Alastair Down – 2022 President’s Trophy

As well as the scheduled 2023 Awards at yesterday’s HWPA Derby Awards Lunch, there was a special surprise presentation to Alastair Down.

Alastair had been due to attend the 2022 Lunch, when it was intended the President’s Award would be presented to him. However, he had to withdraw at the last minute.

As a result, the announcement and presentation of the trophy was delayed until this year’s event.

Alastair won the Clive Graham Trophy five times between 1994 and 2018, the first of those successes when with the Sporting Life, the four subsequent ones when writing for the Racing Post.