National Hunt Trainer of the Year

The lavish ceremony at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London will make a change for Britain and Ireland’s jump trainers, who usually spend December mornings on the chilly gallops. Training greats Fred Winter, Fulke Walwyn, Ginger McCain and Gordon Richards are among the first winners of the coveted prize.

In 1979, Peter Easterby became the first to successfully defend the prize, and the man best known for the success of Sea Pigeon would make it three at the start of the new decade. Martin Pipe took the honour for the first time in 1988, a prize he would win seven times.

Only fellow West Country trainer Paul Nicholls would match his tally with a latest success coming in 2019. In the past three years the prize – like many in jump racing – has gone to Ireland with Willie Mullins and back-to-back winner Henry de Bromhead scooping the top prize.

← Back to Derby Awards home

Henry de Bromhead

2022 winner (presented to David Roche)

2023 Entries

HWPA members can vote on this category. Nominations will be announced later this year.

Previous winners

Year Winner
2022 Henry de Bromhead
2021 Henry de Bromhead
2020 Willie Mullins
2019 Paul Nicholls
2018 Nicky Henderson
2017 Colin Tizzard
2011 Donald McCain
2010 Nigel Twiston-Davies
2009 Paul Nicholls
2008 Paul Nicholls
2007 Paul Nicholls
2006 Paul Nicholls
2005 Paul Nicholls
2004 Henrietta Knight
2003 Philip Hobbs
2002 Henrietta Knight
2001 Martin Pipe
2000 Noel Chance
1999 Paul Nicholls
1998 Martin Pipe
1997 Martin Pipe
1996 Martin Pipe
1995 Jim Old
1994 Kim Bailey
1993 David Nicholson
1992 Nigel Twiston Davies
1991 Mary Reveley
1990 Martin Pipe
1989 Martin Pipe
1988 Martin Pipe
1987 David Elsworth
1986 Nicky Henderson
1985 Nicky Henderson
1984 Tim Forster
1983 Jenny Pitman
1982 Michael Dickinson
1981 Michael Dickinson
1980 Peter Easterby
1979 Peter Easterby
1978 Peter Easterby
1977 Fred Winter
1976 Peter Easterby
1975 Tony Dickinson
1974 Gordon Richards
1973 Donald ‘Ginger’ McCain
1972 Fulke Walwyn
1971 David Barons
1970 Fred Winter
1969 Arthur Stephenson
1968 Colin Davies
1967 Fred Rimell

From 2012 until 2016 there was a joint trainers category.

2016 Aidan O’Brien
2015 John Gosden
2014 Richard Hannon
2013 Richard Hannon
2012 Sir Henry Cecil