2021 HWPA Derby Awards

Entries are now open for all the writing and photography categories for this year’s Derby Awards. It is hoped that as many members as possible will be able to find the time to enter at least one of the six categories.

Entries should contain written pieces or photographs as appropriate, which were produced between the 2020 Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe and the 2021 running of the race, on 3rd October. Entries should be submitted to hwpacontacts@gmail.com with the email subject stating clearly the category or categories that they are for.

Racing Writer of the Year (Clive Graham Trophy)
Entries for this category should include comment pieces, features, interviews or opinion pieces. Entrants are required to submit THREE pieces of work.

Reporter of the Year (John Oaksey Trophy)
Entries for this category have an emphasis on news gathering and investigative reporting or pieces which have been written under pressure of a deadline such as race reports. Entrants are required to submit THREE pieces of work.

Specialist Writer of the Year
Entries for this category could include, but are not limited to, analytical work, bloodstock writing, international racing, form analysis and interpretation, industry analysis or tipping pieces. Entrants are required to submit THREE pieces of work.

Photographer of the Year
Entrants must submit SIX images.

Picture of the Year
Entrants must submit ONE image. This can be one of the six images submitted for the Photographer of the Year award but should be submitted a second time, so that it can be identified. If an image not in the portfolio is submitted, then please make sure the image for Picture of the Year is clearly labelled. Entries for the two Photography awards are to be submitted digitally: The maximum pixels of the images being 4500 on the longest side, saved at 10 in Photoshop. No images to be used from video grabs. Usual darkroom techniques only to be applied to images.

Emerging Talent (The Alan Lee Trophy) Entrants MUST be under 30 years of age and submit their age with their entry. Their THREE pieces of work can cover a range of media, including traditional written and photography, blogs, social media and broadcasting.

The closing date for entries in all categories is Wednesday 6th October 2021. No entries received after that date will be considered.

Entries in all categories will be assessed by independent and anonymous judges, who have been chosen for their depth of knowledge of both written journalism/photography and of horse racing. The judges will select a shortlist of four finalists. In the case of both the Racing Writer and Reporter Awards, these will then be voted on by the HWPA Members to decide the winner, with the articles distributed with the voting notice email. In the other four categories, the judges will choose the winner.

The winners will be presented with their Trophy at the Derby Awards Lunch at the Lancaster Hotel on 6th December 2021. Please get in touch, if there are any questions, and Good Luck!